President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of new and returning chief executives to fresh terms in office across multiple agencies under the Federal Ministry of Communications, Innovation, and Digital Economy, according to an official statement by the Special Adviser to the President, (Media & Publicity), Chief Ajuri Ngelale.

RELATED: Intrigues deepen over who rules NITDA as support for Abdullahi remains strong

The heads of Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Prof Umaru Danbatta; NIGC|OMSAT Limited, Tukur Mohammed Lawal; and Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST), Adepoju Adeyemi Sunday were all sacked.

The government, however, retained the heads of National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA); and Nigeria Data Protection Commission (NDPC).

The status of Galaxy Backbone Limited has not been decided.


Below are the list of new and retained appointees.

  1. EVC / CEO, Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) — Aminu Maida
  2. MD / CEO, Nigerian Communications Satellite Limited (NIGCOMSAT) — Nkechi Egerton-Idehen
  3. DG / CEO, National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) — Kashifu Inuwa Abdullahi
  4. National Commissioner / CEO, Nigeria Data Protection Commission (NDPC) — Dr. Vincent Olatunji
  5. Postmaster General / CEO, Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST) — Tola Odeyemi

“Furthermore, in line with President Bola Tinubu’s determination to maximally leverage on Nigeria’s proven technological and digital economic prowess to reposition the nation’s economy toward greater financial inclusion, the President has approved the appointment of a new Special Adviser to the President.

“Special Adviser to the President on Technology and Digital Economy — Idris Alubankudi.”


More in News

You may also like