The Nigerian government has dissolved the governing board of the National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), the country’s IT clearinghouse and that of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), the telecom regulator. All other governing boards of federal parastatals, agencies and institutions were similarly dissolved in a sweeping and surprising move that one insider described as President Muhammadu Buhari’s unfolding attempt to clear up the rots within.”  The dissolution took effect from July 16, 2015.


With the dissolution, fear with uncertainty has gripped many civil servants particularly heads of federal parastatals, agencies and institutions. They fear a purge is in the offing. Already sacked is the Director-General of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Mr. Patrick Ziakede Akpobolokemi. Accused of official recklessness among others, Akpobolokemi’s appointment was terminated and made public in a short statement by the presidency.


According to a statement by President Buhari’s Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, on the dissolution, Chief Executive Officers of the affected parastatals, agencies and institutions are to refer all matters requiring the attention of their boards to the President, through the Permanent Secretaries of their supervising ministries until the boards are reconstituted.



Many boards of federal parastatals, agencies and institutions were regarded as no more than clogs and bastions of corruption. Often appointed as some form of political settlements by the immediate past government, they join the governing board with shopping list and not ideas.

“That will not happen under this government. Only functional people and not some redundant opportunists will make the new boards’ list. You can quote me on that,” said an insider who should know. He spoke to IT Edge News in Kaduna city, about 200 kilometres from Abuja.

Members of the governing board of the Nigerian Communications Commission consists of nine Commissioners made up of six Non-executive members, including the Chairman – representing each of the six Geopolitical Zones of Nigeria – and three Executive members, including the Executive Vice Chairman/Chief Executive and two Executive Commissioners. The Chairman of the board before it was sacked was Engr. Peter Egbe Igoh.



Sacked members of NITDA Board

Dr.Tosin Ajayi (Chairman)

Alh. Ibrahim kassim

Alh. Saidu Gwadabe

Honourable Ben Bako

Eng. Wilson Agu

Mr. Harami B. Balami

Bar. SegunIlori

Hajiya Sa’adatu Ayitogo

Hon. Chief Engr. Emmanuel Ighomena

Mr. Fashedemi Temitope

Mr. Ifegwu Kalu Oji

Engr. Saidu Njidda

Prof. David O. Adewunmi

Mr. Akinyele Okeremi

Mr. Sunday Afolayan

Mrs. Florence Seriki

Dr. C.B Asomugha

Dr. Abdullahi B. Baffa

More in Editorial

You may also like