The Federal Government has inaugurated a 20-member committee tasked with implementing the Nigeria Digital in Health Initiative (NDHI), aimed at revolutionizing the national digital healthcare infrastructure. The Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Prof. Muhammad Ali Pate, presented appointment letters to committee members in Abuja, marking a significant step in the transformation of Nigeria’s healthcare sector.

RELATED: 20 rising African innovators collaborate with AWS on future of sustainable farming and healthcare

The committee, led by Minister of State for Health and Social Welfare, Dr. Tunji Alausa, is set to drive substantial changes in data management within healthcare facilities. According to Prof. Pate, digitizing health records will enhance patient experience, safeguard patient data, and improve overall health outcomes. Furthermore, it will streamline the workflow of healthcare providers, empower policymakers, and ensure greater accountability across the sector.

Dr. Alausa emphasized the need for uniform data collection and management to address the existing challenges within Nigeria’s healthcare system. He highlighted the prevalence of outdated paper-based methods and the limited use of Electronic Medical Record (EMR) and Electronic Health Record (EHR) platforms, leading to fragmented data and inefficiencies.

The Digital in Health Initiative seeks to establish a comprehensive digital health environment encompassing data gathering, repository management, data servicing, and service regulation. The initiative aims to introduce a national unified EMR platform as a central hub for enhancing health system efficiency, monitoring public health, facilitating data exchange, and promoting research.

The newly inaugurated committee, comprising healthcare professionals and experts, will play a pivotal role in formulating data policies, managing repositories, and overseeing the establishment of a national digital health environment. Their efforts are geared towards supporting the rollout of digital health interventions, starting with the national unified EMR platform.

According to a statement by Patricia Deworitshe, Director (Information). members of the committee include Dr. Tunji Alausa (Chairman), Dr. Edem Adzogenu (Vice-Chairman), Dr. Adejuwon Dada, Dr. Chris Osa Isokpunwu, Dr. Gbenga Ijadola, Dr. Jimoh Salaudeen, Bodunde O. Onifade, Mr. Idris Albankudi, Mr. Lanre Lamina, and Dr. Muyi Aina.

Others are Tajudeen Ibrahim, Kelechi Ohiri, Dr. Lolade Adeyemi, Mr. Bode Pedro, John Adebisi, Abubakar Yusuf, Dr. Ibrahim Waziri, Dr. Oyebanji Filani, Robert Cryer, and Leke Ojewale.


More in News

You may also like