Government may have finalized plans to move three key organisations under the Ministry of Communications to the Ministry of Science and Technology. The government bodies are the National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), Nigeria Communication Satellite (NigComSat) Limited and Galaxy Backbone Limited.

Sources within the Ministry of Communications and the presidency mentioned to IT Edge News.ng last night that the move would leave the Ministry of Communications only with the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) and Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST).


But the details are still sketchy in what may finally mean the deletion of the entire Ministry of Communication to make NIPOST and NCC answerable directly to the presidency.  “Government wants to save cost,” the source within the presidency said.

However, government would have to work round the legal status of the agencies as they were mostly set up by an Act of Parliament.

Under the Goodluck Jonathan administration, government had rejected the recommendation of Steve Oronsaye Committee to amend the NITDA Act and merge it with other agencies or reduce it to a department. It appears it is the present government may simply yank off the ministry of communication itself having on assumption of office re-named it as simply ministry of communications. The ministry was designated as the Ministry of Communications Technology under Jonathan.



More in Editorial

You may also like