The 2014 National Information Technology Merit Award (NITMA) has shortlisted Aniekan Etiebet, managing director of Data Sciences; Austin Okere, group chief executive officer of Computer Warehouse Group Plc; Collins Onuegbu, former chief executive officer of Signal Alliance and founder of Sasware Limited and Segun Akano, Managing Director Upperlink Limited as IT personalities of the year.

Organiser of the NITMA award, the Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) said the award is part of NCS’s way of honouring excellence and outstanding contributions in the Nigeria’s information technology industry. The umbrella body of all IT professional in Nigeria said one of those shortlisted will emerge as the IT personality of the year 2014 through an online voting process that will see only members of NCS participating.

The president of NCS, Prof. David Adewumi disclosed this during a press briefing to unveil this year NITMA that will take place later this month at Muson Centre. Highlighting the contributions of the four IT personalities shortlisted, Adewumi said they have expanded the frontiers of IT in Nigeria and abroad. “The Nigeria IT community owe them huge gratitude,” he added.

According to him, the NITMA award represents the totality of any award in the IT industry, and is pivotal in reinforcing its values anchored on professionalism and consistency.


He said NITMA event reinforces the unique values NCS promotes by combining this prestigious long-standing awards ceremony with unparalleled networking opportunities for IT professionals, innovators, researchers, entrepreneurs, as well as policy and decision makers in the private and public sectors of the economy.

During the NITMA ceremony, NCS will also recognise and award deserving individuals who have distinguished themselves with exceptional achievement and service that have accelerated IT development in Nigeria.

Those to be honoured with Honorary Fellowships include Dr. Toga Gayewea Mcintosh, vice president of the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) for his continuing and outstanding contribution to information technology development in Nigeria and the West Africa Region and Hon. Ibrahim Shehu Gusau, Chairman, House Committee on ICT.


More in Editorial

You may also like